Skip to main content

Advisory Committees

The UNC NORC provides expertise, infrastructure, and services through four biomedical research cores – the Animal Metabolism Phenotyping Core, the Clinical and Community Human Assessment and Interventions (CHAI) Core, the Metabolism and Metabolomics Core, and the Precision Nutrition Core – as well as the Center’s Enrichment Program and Pilot & Feasibility Program. An overview of the UNC NORC’s governance and organizational structure is presented in this downloadable figure.

External Advisory Committee

The UNC NORC’s External Advisory Committee (EAC) is composed of world-renowned scientists with expertise in population-based, clinical, and basic biomedical research in nutrition. They have special expertise that enriches the operations of the UNC NORC. Members of the EAC serve renewable three-year terms. The current members of the EAC are listed below.

Charles Burant, MD, PhD
Dr. Robert C. and Veronica Atkins Professor of Metabolism
Professor of Nutritional Sciences
School of Public Health, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor
Term: 2021-2024

Anthony G. Comuzzie, PhD, FTOS
CEO, The Obesity Society
Term: 2021-2024

Anthony W. Ferrante, Jr., MD, PhD
Tilden-Weger-Bieler Professor of Medicine
Chief of Preventive Medicine & Nutrition
Naomi Berrie Diabetes Center, Columbia University
Term: 2021-2024

Paul MacLean, PhD
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Term: 2021-2024

Marian L. Neuhouser, PhD
Program Head, Cancer Prevention Program
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, Washington
Term: 2021-2024

José M. Ordovás, PhD
Lead Scientist and Senior Scientist
Nutrition and Genomics Team
Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging
Tufts University
Term: 2021-2024

Ken Resnicow, PhD
Irwin M. Rosenstock Collegiate Professor of Public Health
Department of Health Behavior and Health Education
University of Michigan at Ann Arbor
Term: 2021-2024

Peter Turnbaugh, PhD
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
School of Medicine
University of California at San Francisco
Term: 2021-2024

Internal Advisory Committee

The Internal Advisory Committee (IAC) is responsible for maintaining the quality, objectivity, and continuity of policies and procedures that govern the Center. In addition to the Core Directors, the Enrichment Program Director, and the Co-Directors of the P&F Program, three UNC NORC members representing the NORC membership and one representative of the North Carolina Diabetes Research Center (NCDRC) serve three-year renewable terms on the Internal Advisory Committee. The current members of the IAC are listed below.

Natalia Krupenko, PhD
Associate Professor of Nutrition
Term: 2020-2023

Donald McClain, MD, PhD (NCDRC Representative)
Professor, Endocrinology and Metabolism
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Term: 2021-2024

Amanda Thompson, PhD
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Nutrition
Term: 2020-2023

Carmina G. Valle, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Nutrition
Member, Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Term: 2020-2023